glossary - en to zh_TW translation catalogue (816 entries)

note: "English Definition"
en: Term
zh_TW: 辭彙

note: "To terminate abruptly a processing activity in a computer system because it is impossible or undesirable for the activity to procees."
en: abort
zh_TW: 中止

note: "1. In character recognition systems a type of symbol that, unlike a letter or numeral, has no intrinsic meaning and must be defined before it can be interpreted. 2. In programming a data type defined by the operations that can be performed on objects of t"
en: Abstract
zh_TW: 抽象

note: "1. In applications, a key or key combination used to perform a defined function. Also called shortcut key. 2. A hardware device that speeds or enhances the operation of one or more subsystems, leading to improved program performance. "
en: Accelerator
zh_TW: 加速器

en: Accept
zh_TW: 接受

note: "1. The act of reading data from or writing data to memory. 2. Connection to the Internet or other network or system.  2. To gain entry to memory in order to read or write data."
en: access
zh_TW: 權限

note: "A record of essential user information that is stored on the system.. Network accounts are created by network administrators and are used both to validate users and to administer policies-for example, permissions-related to each user."
en: Account
zh_TW: 帳號

note: "Pertaining to the device, program, file, or portion of the screen that is currently operational or subject to command operations. "
en: Active
zh_TW: 啟用

en: Actor
zh_TW: 使用者

note: "A disk drive mechanism for moving the read/write head(s) to the location of the desired track on a disk. "
en: Actuator
zh_TW: 使用者頭像

en: Add
zh_TW: 新增

note: "1. A number specifying a location in memory where data is stored. 2. A unique code that specifies a particular computer (node) or site on the Internet or other network. 3. A code used to specify an e-mail destination."
en: Address
zh_TW: 地址

en: Adjust
zh_TW: 調整

note: "The performing of maintenance tasks on a system or network"
en: Administration
zh_TW: 管理

en: Aggregate
zh_TW: 聚合

note: "A visual or auditory signal from a computer alerting the user to an error or hazardous situation."
en: Alarm
zh_TW: 警告

note: "In an application such as a word processor, to position lines of type relative to some point, such as the page margin. The most common types of alignment are left- and right-aligned and centered. "
en: Align
zh_TW: 對齊

en: Allow
zh_TW: 允許

note: "A software product that is under development and has enough functionality to begin testing. "
en: Alpha
zh_TW: Alpha 測試版

note: "The high-order 8 bits of a 32-bit graphics pixel used to manipulate the remaining 24 bits for purposes of coloring or masking. In computer graphics, memory associated with each pixel used to store the fractional coverage of the pixel."
en: alpha channel
zh_TW: 透明色版

note: "Pertaining to a device or signal that is continuously varying in strength or quantity, such as voltage or audio, rather than based on discrete units, such as the binary digits 1 and 0. "
en: Analog
zh_TW: 類比

note: "The evaluation of a situation or problem, including review from various aspects or points of view. In computing, analysis commonly involves such features as flow control, error control, and evaluation of efficiency."
en: Analysis
zh_TW: 分析

note: "A tag in an HTML document that defines a section of text, an icon, or other element as a link to another element in the document or to another document or file. "
en: Anchor
zh_TW: 錨點

note: "The simulation of movement through a rapid succession of static images. "
en: Animation
zh_TW: 動畫

note: "On the Internet, the standard login name used to obtain access to a public FTP file archive. "
en: Anonymous
zh_TW: 匿名

note: "A setting that allows a modem to answer an incoming call automatically. It is used in all fax machines. "
en: Answer mode
zh_TW: 應答模式

note: "A software technique (algorithm) for smoothing the jagged appearance of curved or diagonal lines caused by poor resolution on a display screen. "
en: Antialiasing
zh_TW: 反鋸齒

note: "To place or insert as an attachment by adding data to the end of a file or database or extending a character string. To attach to the end of; most often used in reference to writing a file of adding to a string."
en: Append
zh_TW: 附加

note: "An application working inside a small window in a panel. A program that can be downloaded over the Internet and executed on the recipient's machine. "
en: Applet
zh_TW: 面板程式

note: "A software program designed to assist in the performance of a specific task or for particlar user needs, such as word processing, accounting, or inventory management. "
en: Application
zh_TW: 應用程式

note: "A button in the panel which launches an application or executes a command when pressed."
en: Application Launcher
zh_TW: 程式啟動器

en: Arc
zh_TW: 圓弧

note: "A collection of several files bundled into one file by a program (such as ar, tar, bar or cpio) for shipment or archiving."
en: archive
zh_TW: 保存檔

en: area grid
zh_TW: 區域網格

note: "An item of information following a command. It may, for example, modify the command or identify a file to be affected. "
en: Argument
zh_TW: 引數

note: "In programming, a list of data values, all of the same type, any element of which can be referenced by an expression consisting of the array name followed by an indexing expression. An arrangement of elements in one or more dimensions."
en: Array
zh_TW: 陣列

note: "The four directional keys on the numeri keypad."
en: Arrow key
zh_TW: 箭咀鍵

en: Article
zh_TW: 文章

note: "The arrangement of a sequence of items from lowest to highest, such as from 1 to 10 or from A to Z. "
en: Ascending order
zh_TW: 遞增排序

note: "In computer displays and graphics, the ratio of the width of an image or image area to its height. The aspect ratio is an important factor in maintaining correct proportions when an image is printed, rescaled, or incorporated into another document."
en: aspect ratio
zh_TW: 長寬比

note: "Without regular time relationship; unexpected and unpredictable with respect to the execution of a program's instructions. "
en: Asynchronous
zh_TW: 非同步

note: "Any file accompanying an e-mail message in a special format so that it can be viewed or saved to disk independently of the main message body."
en: Attachment
zh_TW: 附件

note: "In a database record, the name or structure of a field. In screen displays, an element of additional information stored with each character. In markup languages such as SGML and HTML, a name-value pair within a tagged element that modifies certain feature"
en: Attribute
zh_TW: 屬性

note: "Relating to frequencies within the range of perception by the human ear."
en: Audio
zh_TW: 音效

note: "In a multiuser or network operating system, the process by which the system validates a user's logon information. "
en: Authentication
zh_TW: 認證

note: "Traditionally, to author meant to write a literary work or journalistic piece. In a computer context it means to create a product for implementation via computer technology; to write a computer program or to create Web pages. "
en: Author
zh_TW: 作者

en: Autofill
zh_TW: 自動填入

note: "In processing, the accessibility of a computer system or resource, such as a printer, in terms of usage or of the percentage of the total amount of time the device is needed."
en: Availability
zh_TW: 可用性

en: Average
zh_TW: 平均

note: "In a chart or other two-dimensional system using coordinates, the horizontal line (x-axis) or vertical line (y-axis) that serves as a reference for plotting points. In a three-dimensional coordinate system, a third line (z-axis) is used to represent depth"
en: Axis
zh_TW: 軸

note: "In the context of processes or tasks that are part of an operating system or program, operating without interaction with the user while the user is working on another task. In the UNIX command line, the character <literal>&amp;</literal> appended to a command will make that command run in the backg
en: Background
zh_TW: 背景

note: "A duplicate copy of a program, a disk, or data, made either for archiving purposes or for safeguarding valuable files from loss should the active copy be damaged or destroyed. "
en: Backup
zh_TW: 備份

note: "Adjustment of sources of sound so that the final transmission adheres to an artistic standard."
en: Balance
zh_TW: 平衡

note: "In mathematics, a number that is raised to the power specified by an exponent. For example, in 23 = 2 × 2 × 2 = 8, the base is 2."
en: Base
zh_TW: 基數

note: "An executable program, so called because the file containing the program consists of machine-readable binary digits, i.e. ones and zeroes."
en: Binary
zh_TW: 可執行碼

note: "1. Language-dependent code that allows a software library to be called from that computer language. 2. The process during which a client finds out where a server is so that the client can receive services. "
en: Binding
zh_TW: 綁定

note: "In statistics, a list or a function that describes the probabilities of the possible values of a random variable chosen by means of a Bernoulli sampling process. Also called Bernoulli distribution."
en: Binomial distribution
zh_TW: 二項式分佈

note: "The minimal possible unit of information, a digit which can take values 0 or 1. Saying that the file has length n bits is equivalent to saying that it can be written as  a sequence of n zeros and ones."
en: Bit
zh_TW: 位元

note: "A data structure in memory that represents information in the form of a collection of individual bits. A bit map is used to represent a bit image. "
en: Bitmap
zh_TW: 點陣圖

note: "To not show or not display an image on part or all of the screen."
en: Blank
zh_TW: 空白

en: Blinking cursor
zh_TW: 閃爍游標

en: block buffer
zh_TW: 緩衝區

note: "A signal that is prevented from being transmitted"
en: Blocked
zh_TW: 阻塞

en: Blur image
zh_TW: 模糊圖像

note: "1. In e-mail and Internet newsgroups, the content of a message. 2. In HTML, SGML, and XML, a section of a document that contains the content of the document, along with tags describing characteristics of the content."
en: body
zh_TW: 內容

note: "A type style that makes the text to which it is applied appear darker and heavier than the surrounding text. "
en: Bold
zh_TW: 粗體

note: "1. A marker inserted at a specific point in a document to which the user may wish to return for later reference. 2. In Netscape Navigator, a link to a Web page or other URL that a user has stored in a local file in order to return to it later. "
en: book mark
zh_TW: 書籤

note: "Characteristic of logical (true, false) values. "
en: Boolean
zh_TW: 布林值

note: "The boundary around a graphic image on screen. "
en: Box
zh_TW: 邊框

note: "A node intermediate between the root and the leaves in some types of logical tree structure, such as the directory tree "
en: Branch
zh_TW: 分支

en: Bricks
zh_TW: 磚

note: "To scan a database, a list of files, or the Internet, either for a particular item or for anything that seems to be of interest. "
en: Browse
zh_TW: 瀏覽

note: "Software that lets a user view HTML documents and access files and software related to those documents. "
en: Browser
zh_TW: 瀏覽器

note: "A region of memory reserved for use as an intermediate repository in which data is temporarily held while waiting to be transferred between two locations or devices. "
en: Buffer
zh_TW: 緩衝區

note: "An error in coding or logic that causes a program to malfunction or to produce incorrect results. "
en: bug
zh_TW: 錯誤

note: "A typographical symbol, such as a filled or empty circle, diamond, box, or asterisk, used to set off a small block of text or each item in a list. "
en: Bullet
zh_TW: 項目符號

note: "A computer system equipped with one or more modems or other means of network access that serves as an information and message-passing center for remote users. "
en: Bulletin Board
zh_TW: 公告版

note: "A circuit over which data or power is transmitted. The bus connects the processor, disk-drive controller, memory, and input/output ports-and enables them to transfer information. "
en: Bus
zh_TW: 匯流排

note: "Temporarily performing a function or task."
en: Busy
zh_TW: 繁忙

note: "A graphic element in a dialog box that, when activated, performs a specified function. "
en: Button
zh_TW: 按鈕

note: "8 bits, i.e. a sequence of 8 zeros and ones.There are 256 possible such sequences, so one can also say that one byte represents a number ranging from 0 to 255. Byte is the basic building block of filesystem: all files are composed of bytes. For text files, each byte represents one symbol."
en: Byte
zh_TW: 位元組

note: "A short-term storage area in RAM or on the hard disk.  Many programs use caches to store recently-accessed files or other items."
en: Cache
zh_TW: 高速緩存

note: "Any device that performs arithmetic operations on numbers. "
en: Calculator
zh_TW: 計算機

note: "An application program in the form of an electronic calendar, commonly used for highlighting dates and scheduling appointments. "
en: Calendar
zh_TW: 行事曆

note: "To establish a connection through a telecommunications network. "
en: Call
zh_TW: 呼叫

en: Cancel
zh_TW: 取消

en: canvas
zh_TW: 畫布

en: Caption
zh_TW: 標題

en: Case Sensitive
zh_TW: 區分大小寫

note: "Groups of like settings in a property window."
en: Categories
zh_TW: 類別

en: CDE panel
zh_TW: CDE 面板

note: "1. The intersection of a row and a column in a spreadsheet. 2. An addressable (named or numbered) storage unit for information. A "
en: Cell
zh_TW: 欄

en: Cellular
zh_TW: 網狀

note: "To align characters around a point located in the middle of a line, page, or other defined area."
en: Center
zh_TW: 中央

note: "1. A path or link through which information passes between two devices. 2. In communications, a medium for transferring information. Depending on its type, a communications channel can carry information (data, sound, and/or video) in either analog or digi"
en: Channel
zh_TW: 通道

note: "A rectangular block of pixels that represents the space in which a given character is drawn on the screen. "
en: char cell
zh_TW: 字元格

note: "A collection of symbols, such as letters of one or several alphabets, digits, punctuation marks, etc. "
en: Character set
zh_TW: 字元集

note: "Real-time conversation via computer. "
en: Chat
zh_TW: 聊天

note: "One of a set of bits that are added to a data message at its origin and scrutinized by the receiving process to determine whether an error has occurred during transmission. "
en: Check bit
zh_TW: 校對位元

note: "A nonexclusive setting that shows a checkmark in a box when the setting is chosen. Check boxes are used to enable or disable one or more features or options from a set. "
en: Checkbox
zh_TW: 選擇項 (勾選)

note: "In a tree structure, the relationship of a node to its immediate predecessor. "
en: child
zh_TW: 副節點

note: "A process initiated by another process (the parent)."
en: child process
zh_TW: 副程序

note: "In object-oriented programming, a generalized category that describes a group of more specific items, called objects, that can exist within it. "
en: Class
zh_TW: 類 (Class)

en: Classification
zh_TW: 分類

en: Clear
zh_TW: 清除

note: "The temporary buffer into which text or other data can be copied, to be used later by pasting into a different location. Most applications support the clipboard either through native mouse-based cut and paste functionality of X Window System, or through s"
en: Clipboard
zh_TW: 剪貼簿

note: "To change an open window into an icon on the desktop. To end an application's relationship with an open file so that the application will no longer be able to access the file without opening it again. To end a computer's connection with another computer o"
en: Close
zh_TW: 關閉

note: "Program instructions. Source code consists of human-readable statements written by a programmer in a programming language. Machine code consists of numerical instructions that the computer can recognize and execute and that were converted from source code"
en: code
zh_TW: 代碼

note: "1. A memory segment containing program instructions. 2. A named and segregated portion of a program's code typically performing a specific class of operations. "
en: code segment
zh_TW: 代碼片段

en: Coefficient
zh_TW: 常數

en: Collaboration
zh_TW: 協作

note: "In data handling, to merge items from two or more similar sets to create a combined set that maintains the order or sequence of items in the original sets."
en: Collate
zh_TW: 排序校對

note: "The result of two devices or network workstations trying to transmit signals at the exact same time on the same channel. "
en: Collision
zh_TW: 衝突

note: "An instruction to a computer program which causes an action to be carried out. Commands are usually either typed at the keyboard or chosen from a menu."
en: Command
zh_TW: 指令

note: "A string of text written in the command language and passed to the command interpreter for execution. It can contain a command followed by arguments, options, file names and other expressions."
en: Command Line
zh_TW: 指令列

note: "Parameters or arguments given on the UNIX command line after a program name, which tell the program how to run. "
en: Command line options
zh_TW: 指令列選項

en: Common properties
zh_TW: 共同性質

note: "To check two items, such as words, files, or numeric values, so as to determine whether they are the same or different. "
en: Compare
zh_TW: 比較

note: "To string together two or more sequences into one longer sequencce (for example, to combine the two strings 'hello' and 'there' into the single string 'hello there'). "
en: Concatenate
zh_TW: 合併

note: "The state of an expression or a variable (for example, when a result can be either true or false, or equal or not equal)."
en: Condition
zh_TW: 條件

note: "A pipe containing electric wires or cables, in order to protect them against damage from external causes."
en: Conduit
zh_TW: 導線管

en: Confidential
zh_TW: 秘密

note: "In reference to a single microcomputer, the sum of a system's internal and external components, including memory, disk drives, keyboard, video, and generally less critical add-on hardware, such as a mouse, modem, or printer. Software (the operating system"
en: Configuration
zh_TW: 設定組態

en: Confirm
zh_TW: 確定

en: Confirmation
zh_TW: 確定

note: "A physical link via wire, radio, fiber-optic cable, or other medium between two or more communications devices."
en: Connection
zh_TW: 連線

note: "In programming, a restriction on the solutions that are acceptable for a problem."
en: Constraint
zh_TW: 約束

note: "The data that appears between the starting and ending tags of an element in an SGML or HTML document. "
en: Content
zh_TW: 內容

note: "libgtop.pot"
en: Continue
zh_TW: 繼續

note: "Management of a computer and its processing abilities so as to maintain order as tasks and activities are carried out. In a graphical user interface, an object on the screen that can be manipulated by the user to perform an action. The most common control"
en: Control
zh_TW: 控制

note: "The process of changing from one form or format to another. Types of conversion include: data (changing the way information is represented), file (changing a file from one format to another), hardware (changing all or part of a computer system), media (tr"
en: Conversion
zh_TW: 轉換

note: "To duplicate information and reproduce it in another part of a document, in a different file or memory location, or in a different medium. "
en: Copy
zh_TW: 複製

note: "A method of protecting the rights of an originator of a creative work, such as a text, a piece of music, a painting, or a computer program, through law. "
en: Copyright
zh_TW: 版權

note: "A file created to hold a memory image useful for debugging problems when a program malfunctions."
en: Core file
zh_TW: Core 檔

note: "A linear transformation which in the plane maps lines into points and lines into points and in space maps points into planes and planes into points."
en: Correlation
zh_TW: 相關

en: Cost
zh_TW: 開銷,成本

en: Count
zh_TW: 計數

en: Covariance
zh_TW: 協方差

note: "For a system or program, to fail to function correctly, resulting in the suspension of operation. A program crash results in the loss of all unsaved data and can leave the operating system unstable enough to require restarting the computer. A disk drive c"
en: crash
zh_TW: 當機

en: Create
zh_TW: 建立

en: Criteria range
zh_TW: 標準範圍

note: "An error that suspends processing until the condition can be corrected either by software or by user intervention "
en: Critical error
zh_TW: 嚴重錯誤

note: "In computer graphics, to cut off part of an image, such as unneeded sections of a graphic or extra white space around the borders. "
en: Crop
zh_TW: 裁剪

en: Cross-reference
zh_TW: 交叉引用

en: Cumulative
zh_TW: 累積的

note: "The flow of electric charge through a conductor, or the amount of such flow. Current is measured in amperes. Also used as a synonym to active."
en: Current
zh_TW: 電流

note: "A highlighted or animated icon which indicates the current position of the mouse on the screen, or the position where keyboard input will occur in a text window."
en: cursor
zh_TW: 游標

en: Curve
zh_TW: 曲線

note: "To modify or assemble hardware or software to suit the needs or preferences of the user. "
en: Customize
zh_TW: 自訂

en: custom window
zh_TW: 自訂視窗

note: "To remove part of a document, usually placing it temporarily in memory or the clipboard so that the cut portion can be inserted (pasted) elsewhere. "
en: Cut
zh_TW: 剪下

note: "A background process providing basic system or network services. A daemon is activated only when needed, for example, to correct an error from which another program cannot recover."
en: Daemon
zh_TW: 伺服程式

note: "An item of information."
en: Data
zh_TW: 資料

note: "A file composed of records, each containing fields together with a set of operations for searching, sorting, recombining, and other functions."
en: database
zh_TW: 資料庫

note: "To detect, locate, and correct logical or syntactical errors in a program or malfunctions in hardware. In hardware contexts, the term troubleshoot is the term more often used."
en: Debug
zh_TW: 除錯

note: "The base-10 numbering system. "
en: decimal
zh_TW: 十進制

en: Decrease
zh_TW: 減少

note: "A choice made by a program when the user does not specify an alternative."
en: Default
zh_TW: 預設

note: "To eliminate text, a file, or part of a document with the intention of removing the information permanently. "
en: Delete
zh_TW: 刪除

note: "The state in which one entity relies upon specific hardware, software, or specific events for its own definition or functionality. "
en: Dependence
zh_TW: 依賴性

en: Derived
zh_TW: 衍生的

note: "A sort that arranges items in descending order-for example, with Z preceding A and higher numbers preceding lower ones. "
en: Descending sort
zh_TW: 遞減排序

note: "A data structure that uniquely identifies a hardware device or software function. "
en: Descriptor
zh_TW: 描述符號

note: "The on-screen work area, on which windows, icons, and other graphical items may be placed."
en: Desktop
zh_TW: 桌面

note: "Software which provides graphical user interface for users desktop. In addtition to capabilities provided by a window manager (that is, ability to move, resize, and hide windows), a desktop environment usually also includes such elements of GUI as a File "
en: Desktop Environment
zh_TW: 桌面環境

note: "The location (drive, folder, or directory) to which a file is copied or moved. "
en: Destination
zh_TW: 目的地

en: Destroy
zh_TW: 去除,消滅

en: Detection
zh_TW: 偵測

note: "A piece of hardware with which the system interacts, such as a hard disk, modem, printer or mouse."
en: Device
zh_TW: 裝置

en: Diagonal
zh_TW: 對角

en: Diagram
zh_TW: 圖表

note: "To establish connection that uses the public switched telephone network rather than a dedicated circuit or some other type of private network."
en: Dial
zh_TW: 撥號

note: "In a graphical user interface, a special window displayed by the system or application to solicit a response from the user. "
en: Dialog Box
zh_TW: 對話盒

en: Dialout Device
zh_TW: 撥號設備

note: "One of the characters used to indicate a whole number (unit) in a numbering system. In any numbering system, the number of possible digits is equal to the base used. For example, the decimal (base-10) system has 10 digits, 0 through 9."
en: Digits
zh_TW: 數字

note: "One of three or four coordinates determining a position in space or in space and time."
en: Dimension
zh_TW: 維

note: "glade.pot"
en: Direction
zh_TW: 方向

note: "A branch within UNIX's hierarchical file system; a 'folder' containing files or other directories (called 'subdirectories')."
en: Directory
zh_TW: 目錄

note: "To suppress something or to prevent it from happening. Disabling is a method of controlling system functions by disallowing certain activities. "
en: Disable
zh_TW: 禁用,停用

en: Discard
zh_TW: 丟棄

note: "To break a communications link."
en: Disconnect
zh_TW: 中斷連線

note: "Separate; individual; identifiable as a unit. "
en: Discrete
zh_TW: 離散的

note: "A round platter of flexible plastic coated with a magnetic material that can be electrically charged to hold information recorded in digital (binary) form. The magnetized medium is organised in concentric tracks and sectors for storing data."
en: disk
zh_TW: 磁碟

en: Dismiss
zh_TW: 解除,離開

note: "A visual presentation of data. The visual output device of a computer."
en: Display
zh_TW: 顯示,顯示器

note: "Loss or diminution of power."
en: Dissipation
zh_TW: 損耗,耗散

note: "To allocate among locations or facilities, as in a data-processing function."
en: Distribute
zh_TW: 發佈

note: "A list of recipients on an e-mail mailing list. "
en: Distribution list
zh_TW: 分發列表

note: "A technique used in computer graphics to create the illusion of varying shades of gray on a monochrome display or printer, or additional colors on a color display or printer. "
en: Dithering
zh_TW: 細緻過網

note: "An error condition caused by an attempt to divide a number by zero, which is mathematically undefined."
en: Division by zero
zh_TW: 除數為 0

note: "A collction of one or more lines of text that can be named and stored as a separate item or file which can be retrieved."
en: Document
zh_TW: 文件

note: "In the Internet and other networks, a part of a naming hierarchy. The domain is the highest subdivision of a domain name in a network address, which identifies the type of entity owning the address (for example, .com for commercial users or the geographic"
en: Domain
zh_TW: 網域

note: "1. In the UNIX, MS-DOS, OS/2, and other operating systems, the character that separates a filename from an extension. 2. In computer graphics and printing, a small spot combined with others in a matrix of rows and columns to form a character or a graphic "
en: Dot
zh_TW: 點

note: "In communications, to transfer a file or programming instructions from a remote computer to the requesting computer over a communications line. "
en: Download
zh_TW: 下載

note: "In multimedia applications the area on the screen where drawing and editing functions are carried out"
en: Drawing Area
zh_TW: 繪製區

note: "To fix the position of an object that is being dragged by releasing the mouse button. To disconnect a communications line."
en: Drop
zh_TW: 放;結束

en: Druid
zh_TW: 精靈

note: "A terminal that does not contain an internal microprocessor. "
en: dumb Terminal
zh_TW: 啞巴終端機,無能終端機

note: "To copy."
en: Duplicate...
zh_TW: 複製...

note: "Occurring immediately and concurrently or at the time of execution. It describes some action or event that occurs when and as needed. "
en: Dynamic
zh_TW: 動態的

note: "Short for electronic mail.  "
en: E-mail
zh_TW: 電郵

note: "In communications, a signal transmitted back to the sender that is distinct from the original signal. Network connections can be tested by sending an echo back to the main computer."
en: Echo
zh_TW: 回應

note: "1. In computer graphics, one or more vestors defining a portion of an object. 2. In image processing, a set of valus determined to be the dividing line between one image and another image or an image and the background."
en: Edge
zh_TW: 邊緣

note: "To make a change to an existing file or document. "
en: Edit
zh_TW: 編輯

en: Effects
zh_TW: 效果

en: Eject
zh_TW: 退出

note: "A way of exchanging messages between users of computers connected to a network (local or Internet)."
en: Electronic Mail
zh_TW: 電郵

note: "The process of a computer, device, or program imitating the function of another computer, device, or program."
en: emulation
zh_TW: 模擬

note: "To activate."
en: Enable
zh_TW: 啟用

note: "A PostScript file format that can be used as an independent entity. The EPS image must be incorporated into the PostScript output of an application such as a desktop publisher. "
en: Encapsulated Postscript
zh_TW: 封裝的Postscript

note: "A correspondence between characters of some character set and character codes, i.e. internal computer presentation of the symbols. In order to be able to read a text file, you need to know its character set and encoding. In most encodings, each symbol is represented by one byte, which is equivalent
en: Encoding
zh_TW: 編碼

en: Engineering
zh_TW: 工程

note: "In computer-aided design and object-oriented design, an item that can be treated as a unit and as a member of a particular category or type. In object-oriented programming, an entity is oart if the definition of a class of objects."
en: Entity
zh_TW: 實體

note: "A global 'setting', or configuration parameter, which is available to all applications. Each environment variable has a name and a value (which usually is a string of symbols or an integer number). Any application you run  can access any of the environmen To view all currenlty defined environment v
en: environment variable
zh_TW: 環境變數

note: "A mathematical statement that indicates equality with the use of an equal sign (=) between two expressions. In programming languages, assignment statements are written in equation form. "
en: Equation
zh_TW: 方程式

note: "A value or condition that is not consistent with the true, specified, or expected value or condition. "
en: Error
zh_TW: 錯誤

note: "A protocol for network communication, developed in the 1980s and commonly used for Local Area Networks (LANs) and other network communication."
en: Ethernet
zh_TW: 乙太網

note: "An action or occurrence, often generated by the user, to which a program might respond."
en: Event
zh_TW: 事件

note: "In programming, a problem or change in conditions that causes the microprocessor to stop what it is doing and handle the situation in a separate routine. "
en: Exception
zh_TW: 異常

note: "A logical operator that yields 'true' if and only if one of its operands is true and the other is false. "
en: Exclusive OR
zh_TW: 異或 OR

note: "A program/file that can be run or processed or executed  by the computer without any further translation. The term usually applies to a compiled program translated into machine code in a format that can be loaded into memory and run by a computer's proces"
en: executable file
zh_TW: 可執行檔

note: "To run file as program. To perform an instruction. In programming, execution implies loading the machine code of the program into memory and then performing the instructions."
en: Execute
zh_TW: 執行

note: "In a program, to move from the called routine back to the calling routine. "
en: Exit
zh_TW: 離開

note: "A type of memory, up to 8 MB, that can be added to IBM PCs. Its use is defined by the Expanded Memory Specification (EMS). Expanded memory is not needed in Windows 9x, all versions of Windows NT, and Windows 2000. "
en: Expanded memory
zh_TW: 擴展記憶

en: expected location
zh_TW: 預期位置

note: "Synonymous of Absolute state."
en: Explicit state
zh_TW: 顯式狀態

note: "A numeric format that can be used to represent very large real numbers and very small real numbers. Synonymous of Floating-point representation."
en: Exponential notation
zh_TW: 指數表示法

note: "To move information from one system or program to another. Files that consist only of text can be exported in ASCII (plain text format). "
en: Export
zh_TW: 匯出

note: "A language construct for computing a value from one  or moe operands."
en: expression
zh_TW: 表示式

note: "1. A set of characters added to a filename that serves to extend or clarify its meaning or to identify a file as a member of a category. 2. A program or program module that adds functionality to or extends the effectiveness of a program. "
en: Extension
zh_TW: 擴展

note: "To select and remove from a set of items those items that meet some criteria. "
en: Extract
zh_TW: 提取,抽取

note: "In Microsoft Internet Explorer, a user-defined shortcut to a page on the World Wide Web, analogous to a bookmark in Netscape Navigator. "
en: Favorite
zh_TW: 我的最愛

note: "1. A location in a record in which a particular type of data is stored. 2. A space in an on-screen form where the user can enter a specific item of information."
en: Field
zh_TW: 欄位

note: "Any piece of information (text, graphics, executable) put together and given a name. All the information you have on the hard drive is arranged as a collection of  files."
en: File
zh_TW: 檔案

note: "The set of letters, numbers, and allowable symbols assigned to a file to distinguish it from all other files in a particular directory on a disk. "
en: Filename
zh_TW: 檔案名稱

note: "A collection of all the files and directories on a system arranged in a tree-like hierarchy."
en: Filesystem
zh_TW: 檔案系統

note: "In computer graphics, the colored or patterned 'paint' inside an enclosed figure, such as a circle. "
en: Fill
zh_TW: 填充

note: "In communications and electronics, hardware or software that selectively passes certain elements of a signal and eliminates or minimizes others. "
en: Filter
zh_TW: 過濾器,濾波器

note: "Synonymous with Search. 1. To look for the location of a file. 2. To seek specific data within a file or data structure. "
en: Find
zh_TW: 搜尋

note: "Software routines stored in read-only memory (ROM). "
en: Firmware
zh_TW: 韌體

note: "Synonymous with Monospace Font. A font (set of characters in a particular style and size), similar to that used on a typewriter, in which each character occupies the same amount of horizontal space regardless of its width"
en: Fixed Font
zh_TW: 固定寬度字型

note: "The data type name used in some programming languages, notably C, to declare variables that can store floating-point numbers. "
en: Float
zh_TW: 浮點數

note: "A round piece of flexible plastic film coated with ferric oxide particles that can hold a magnetic field. When placed inside a disk drive, the floppy disk rotates to bring different areas, or sectors, of the disk surface under the drive's read/write head,"
en: Floppy
zh_TW: 軟碟

note: "A method of tracing the movement of different types of information through a computer system, especially with regard to security and the controls applied to ensure the integrity of the information. "
en: Flow analysis
zh_TW: 流量分析

note: "A graphic map of the path of control or data through the operations in a program or an information-handling system. "
en: Flowchart
zh_TW: 流程圖

note: "A container for programs and files in graphical user interfaces, symbolized on the screen by a graphical image (icon) of a file folder. This container is called a directory in other systems. "
en: Folder
zh_TW: 資料夾

note: "A set of characters of the same typeface (such as Garamond), style (such as italic), and weight (such as bold). "
en: Font
zh_TW: 字型

note: "One or more identifying lines printed at the bottom of a page. A footer may contain a folio (page number), a date, the author's name, and the document title. "
en: Footer
zh_TW: 註腳

en: Forecast
zh_TW: 預報

note: "To run a program so that its output is visible to the user, or to bring a previously 'backgrounded' program to the foreground. Programs running in the foreground can display output and receive input from the user."
en: Foreground
zh_TW: 前景

note: " A system call to create a new process.  The new process is called a child process. The original process is called a parent process. "
en: fork
zh_TW: 衍生

note: "A structured document with spaces reserved for entering information and often containing special coding as well. In some applications (especially databases), a structured window, box, or other self-contained presentation element with predefined areas for "
en: Form
zh_TW: 表格

note: "The structure or appearance of a unit of data. The arrangement of data within a document file that typically permits the document to be read or written by a certain application. "
en: Format
zh_TW: 格式

note: "A mathematical statement that describes the actions to be performed on numeric values. A formula sets up a calculation without regard to the actual values."
en: Formula
zh_TW: 公式

note: "A mathematical method, developed by the French mathematician Jean-Baptiste-Joseph Fourier (1768-1830), for signal processing and signal generation tasks such as spectral analysis and image processing. It describes the strategy by which a periodic curve (a"
en: Fourier Analysis
zh_TW: 傅立葉分析

note: "A division indicated by the division sign or by a stroke bar. The dividend and the divisor are called the numerator and denominator respectively."
en: Fraction
zh_TW: 分數

note: "1. In asynchronous serial communications, a unit of transmission that is sometimes measured in elapsed time and begins with the start bit that precedes a character and ends with the last stop bit that follows the character. 2. In synchronous communication"
en: Frame
zh_TW: 幀

note: "As defined by Free Software Foundation, free software is software that comes with permission for anyone to use, copy, and distribute, either verbatim or with modifications, either gratis or for a fee. In particular, this means that the source code must be This is very close, but not identical, to t
en: Free Software
zh_TW: 自由軟件

note: "The measure of how often a periodic event occurs, such as a signal going through a complete cycle. Frequency is usually measured in hertz (Hz)."
en: Frequency
zh_TW: 頻率

note: "In a hierarchical filing system, a pathname containing all the possible components of a pathname, including the network share or drive and root directory, as well as any subdirectories and the file or object name. "
en: full pathname
zh_TW: 完整路徑名稱

note: "1. The purpose of, or the action carried out by, a program or routine. 2. A general term for a subroutine. "
en: Function
zh_TW: 功能

note: "The branch of mathematics that deals with the construction, properties, and relationships of points, lines, angles, curves, and shapes. A adjective applied to graphics operations at the level of vertices, adges and polygons, such as transformation and clipping, as opposed to rendering"
en: Geometry
zh_TW: 幾何學

note: "Pertaining to an entire document, file, or program rather than to a restricted segment of it. "
en: Global
zh_TW: 整體

note: "To capture graphical image data from a video camera or another full-motion video source and put it into memory. "
en: Grab
zh_TW: 抓取

note: "The rate of change of a quantity with distance."
en: Gradient
zh_TW: 漸層

note: "Synonymous with Chart. A graphic or diagram that displays data or the relationships between sets of data in pictorial rather than numeric form."
en: Graph
zh_TW: 圖表

note: "A visual computer environment that represents programs, files, and options with graphical images, such as icons, menus, and dialog boxes on the screen. "
en: Graphical user interface
zh_TW: 圖形用戶介面

note: "Two sets of lines or linear elements at right angles to each other. A spreadsheet is a grid of rows and columns."
en: Grid
zh_TW: 網格;表格

note: "A collection of elements that can be treated as a whole, such as a collection of records in a database report, or a collection of objects that can be moved and transformed as a single object in a drawing program. Also a collection of users who are referre"
en: Group
zh_TW: 群組

note: "The blank space or inner margin between two facing pages of a bound document."
en: Gutter
zh_TW: 裝訂線

note: "A person, more commonly considered a cracker, who uses computer expertise for illicit ends, such as by gaining access to computer systems without permission and tampering with programs and data. "
en: Hacker
zh_TW: 駭客

note: "A series of signals acknowledging that communication or the transfer of information can take place between computers or other devices. "
en: Handshake
zh_TW: 握手

note: "A device containing one or more inflexible platters coated with material in which data can be recorded magnetically, together with their read/write heads, the head-positioning mechanism, and the spindle motor in a sealed case that protects against outside"
en: Hard Disk
zh_TW: 硬碟

note: "1. In word processing or printing, text that is to appear at the top of pages. 2. Information attached to the beginning of data that contains information about the subsequent dara, such as a block of bytes in communications, a file on a disk, a set of rec"
en: Header
zh_TW: 表頭

en: Headword
zh_TW: 標題,中心詞

note: "An item on a menu bar in a graphical user interface that enables the user to access the help feature of the present application. "
en: Help
zh_TW: 說明

note: "Using 16 rather than 10 as the base for representing numbers. The hexadecimal system uses the digits 0 through 9 and the letters A through F (uppercase or lowercase) to represent the decimal numbers 0 through 15. "
en: Hex
zh_TW: 十六進制

note: "A file that, in order to protect it from deletion or modification, is not shown in the normal listing of the files contained in a directory. Such a file is often used to store code or data critical to the system configuration."
en: Hidden file
zh_TW: 隱藏檔案

note: "To temporarily remove the onscreen display of an application's active window while leaving the application running. "
en: Hide
zh_TW: 隱藏

note: "A type of organization that, like a tree, branches into more specific units, each of which is 'owned' by the higher-level unit immediately above. "
en: hierachy
zh_TW: 階層次結構

note: "A visual indication that an object is in a special state, as by displaying it in reverse video (light on dark rather than dark on light, and vice versa) or with greater intensity. "
en: Highlight...
zh_TW: 加亮,突出

note: "A chart consisting of horizontal or vertical bars, the widths or heights of which represent the values of certain data."
en: Histogram
zh_TW: 柱狀圖

note: "A list of the user's actions within a program, such as commands entered in an operating system shell, menus passed through using Gopher, or links followed using a Web browser."
en: History
zh_TW: 紀錄

note: "A beginning position, such as the top left corner of a character-based display, the left end of a line of text, cell A1 of a spreadsheet, or the top of a document."
en: Home
zh_TW: 起始

note: "A directory assigned to the user by the system administrator. The home directory is the current directory when the user first logs in, and the user can return to it by entering the command cd (change directory) without a pathname. "
en: Home directory
zh_TW: 起始目錄,主目錄

note: "1. A document intended to serve as a starting point in a hypertext system, especially the World Wide Web. 2. An entry page for a set of Web pages and other files in a Web site. "
en: Home Page
zh_TW: 首頁

note: "A computing milieu, usually within an organization, in which only one manufacturer's hardware and one manufacturer's software are used. "
en: Homogeneous environment
zh_TW: 單一環境

note: "1. The main computer in a mainframe or minicomputer environment, that is, the computer to which terminals are connected. 2. In PC-based networks, a computer that provides access to other computers. 3. On the Internet or other large networks, a server comp"
en: Host
zh_TW: 主機

note: "The name of a specific server on a specific network within the Internet."
en: Host name
zh_TW: 主機名稱

note: "Hot-keys are keyboard combinations used to do actions on a computer instead of using the mouse to do the same action. Hot-keys can speed up computer usage. Also known under the name <quote>keyboard shortcut</quote> or <quote>keyboard accelerator</quote>."
en: Hot Key
zh_TW: 熱鍵

note: "Any of various routines, such as updating the clock or performing garbage collection, designed to keep the system, the environment within which a program runs, or the data structures within a program in good working order."
en: Housekeeping
zh_TW: 內務處理

note: "In the HSB color model, one of the three characteristics used to describe a color. Hue is the attribute that most readily distinguishes one color from other colors. It depends on the frequency of a light wave in the visible spectrum. "
en: Hue
zh_TW: 色相

note: "A piece of hardware that can be used both for providing data to a computer and for receiving data from it, depending on the current situation. "
en: I/O subsystem
zh_TW: I/O 子系統

note: "A small picture used within a graphical user interface to indicate  a program, file, or other part of a computer system."
en: Icon
zh_TW: 圖示

note: "Any text string used as a label, such as the name of a procedure or a variable in a program or the name attached to a hard disk or floppy disk. "
en: Identifier
zh_TW: 標識符

note: "1. Operational but not in use. 2. Waiting for a command."
en: Idle
zh_TW: 閒置

note: "Not allowed, or leading to invalid results. For example, an illegal character in a word processing program would be one that the program cannot recognize; an illegal operation might be impossible for a program or system because of built-in constraints. "
en: Illegal
zh_TW: 不合法

note: "A stored description of a graphic picture, either as a set of brightness and color values of pixels or as a set of instructions for reproducing the picture. "
en: Image
zh_TW: 圖像

note: "The process of getting an application into operation."
en: Implementation
zh_TW: 實現

note: "To bring information from one system or program into another. "
en: Import
zh_TW: 匯入

note: "In an environment capable of displaying multiple on-screen windows, any window other than the one currently being used for work. "
en: Inactive window
zh_TW: 非活動視窗

en: Increase
zh_TW: 增加

note: "An update of those files only that have changed since a specific date."
en: Incremental update
zh_TW: 漸進更新

note: "Displacement of the left or right edge of a block of text in relation to the margin or to other blocks of text. "
en: Indent
zh_TW: 縮排

note: "A listing of keywords and associated data that point to the location of more comprehensive information, such as files and records on a disk or in a database."
en: Index
zh_TW: 索引

note: "A dial or light that displays information about the status of a device, such as a light connected to a disk drive that glows when the disk is being accessed."
en: Indicator
zh_TW: 指示器(燈)

note: "The meaning of data as it is intended to be interpreted by people. Data consists of facts, which become information when they are seen in context and convey meaning to people. "
en: Information
zh_TW: 資訊

note: "The process of assigning initial values to variables and data structures in a program to prepare them for operation."
en: initialization
zh_TW: 初始化

note: "Information entered into a computer or program for processing, as from a keyboard or from a file stored on a disk drive."
en: Input
zh_TW: 輸入

note: "The complementary tasks of gathering data for a computer or a program to work with, and of making the results of the computer's activities available to the user or to other computer processes. "
en: Input/output
zh_TW: 輸入/輸出

en: insensitive version
zh_TW: 不敏感的版本

note: "A blinking vertical bar on the screen, such as in graphical user interfaces, that marks the location at which inserted text will appear. "
en: Insertion point
zh_TW: 插入點

note: "To set in place and prepare for operation. Operating systems and application programs commonly include a disk-based installation, or setup, program that does most of the work of preparing the program to work with the computer, printer, and other devices. "
en: Install
zh_TW: 安裝

note: "A register (small, high-speed memory circuit within a microprocessor) that contains the address (location) of the instruction to be executed next in the program sequence."
en: instruction pointer
zh_TW: 指令指針

note: "The conversational exchange of input and output, as when a user enters a question or command and the system immediately responds. "
en: Interaction
zh_TW: 交互

en: Intercept
zh_TW: 截取,竊聽

note: "Synonymous with Rich Text Format. An adaptation of DCA (Document Content Architecture) that is used for transferring formatted text documents between applications, even those applications running on different platforms, "
en: Interchange File Format
zh_TW: 交換文件格式

note: "1. The point at which a connection is made between two elements so that they can work with each other or exchange information. 2. Software that enables a program to work with the user (the user interface, which can be a command-line interface, menu-driven"
en: Interface
zh_TW: 介面

en: Internal bug
zh_TW: 內部缺陷,內部錯誤

note: "An error pertaining to the main program code"
en: Internal error
zh_TW: 內部錯誤

en: International
zh_TW: 國際

note: "Internet is the network of millions of computers all around the world, connected to each other by some hardware means (cables, wires, phone lines, communication satellites) and communicating with each other using some standard protocols. Internet makes it"
en: Internet
zh_TW: 網際網路

note: "A signal sent from an I/O device to the processor rwhen an error has occurred or when assistance is needed to complete the I/O. When the processor receives an interrupt, it suspends its current operations, saves the status of its work, and transfers contr"
en: Interrupt
zh_TW: 中斷

note: "An operator in relational algebra, used in database management. Given two relations (tables), A and B, that have corresponding fields (columns) containing the same types of values, then INTERSECT A, B builds a third relation containing only those tuples ("
en: Intersect
zh_TW: 交集

en: Interval
zh_TW: 間隔

en: Intuitive
zh_TW: 直覺的,直觀的

note: "Erroneous or unrecognizable because of a flaw in reasoning or an error in input. "
en: Invalid
zh_TW: 不正確

note: "To reverse something or change it to its opposite. For example, to invert the colors on a monochrome display means to change light to dark and dark to light. "
en: Invert
zh_TW: 轉換

note: "The reversal of light and dark in the display of selected characters on a video screen. "
en: Invert Selection
zh_TW: 反白選擇

en: Invisible
zh_TW: 不可見的

note: "A unique address assigned to each computer connected to  the <link linkend='internet'>Internet</link> or a local  network. Has the form <systemitem>a.b.c.d</systemitem>, where a,b,c,d are numbers from 0 to 255, subject to a number of rules  and convention. All communication between computers on the
en: IP Address
zh_TW: IP 地址

note: "A replaceable disk drive developed by Iomega fpr storing large quantities of data (500MB)."
en: Jaz Drive
zh_TW: Jaz 磁碟

note: "A specified amount of processing performed as a unit by a computer. "
en: Job
zh_TW: 任務

note: "1. To align vertically. 2. To align lines of text evenly along both the left and right margins of a column by inserting extra space between the words in each line. "
en: Justify
zh_TW: 調整

note: "The core component of an operating system, responsible for basic operations such as accessing the files, input/output, managing the processor and memory resources, etc. All other tools, utilities, and applications use the kernel."
en: Kernel
zh_TW: 核心

note: "On a keyboard, the combination of a plastic keycap, a tension mechanism that suspends the keycap but allows it to be pressed down, and an electronic mechanism that records the key press and key release. "
en: Key
zh_TW: 鍵

note: "A hardware unit with a set of switches that resembles a typewriter keyboard and that conveys information from a user to a computer or data communications circuit. "
en: Keyboard
zh_TW: 鍵盤

en: Keymap control
zh_TW: 快速鍵控制

note: "1. A characteristic word, phrase, or code that is stored in a key field and is used to conduct sorting or searching operations on records in a database. 2. Any of the set of words that composes a given programming language or set of operating-system routi"
en: Keyword
zh_TW: 關鍵字

note: "To stop or abort a process in a program or operating system. "
en: Kill
zh_TW: 中止

note: "An application of such popularity and widespread standardization that it fuels sales of the hardware platform or operating system for which it was written. "
en: Kill app
zh_TW: 暢銷應用程序

note: "A data unit of 1,024 bytes Abbreviated K, KB, or Kbyte. "
en: Kilobyte
zh_TW: 千位元組

note: "An identifier. A label can be a physical item, such as a stick-on tag used to identify disks and other computer equipment, or an electronic label added to floppy disks or hard disks. It can also be a word, symbol, or other group of characters used to iden"
en: Label
zh_TW: 標籤

note: "A horizontal print orientation in which text or images are printed 'sideways'-s greater than the height. "
en: Landscape
zh_TW: 橫向

note: "Any artificial language that can be used to define a sequence of instructions that can ultimately be processed and executed by the computer. "
en: Language
zh_TW: 語言

note: "A symbol by which a program or application can be started."
en: launch icon
zh_TW: 啟動圖示

note: "A program that organizes frequently used applications and programs and that allows the user to execute them with a single mouse click."
en: Launcher
zh_TW: 啟動器

note: "1. The protocol or protocols operating at a particular level within a protocol suite, such as IP within the TCP/IP suite. Each layer is responsible for providing specific services or functions for computers exchanging information over a communications net"
en: Layer
zh_TW: 層

note: "The overall plan or design of a document system. "
en: Layout
zh_TW: 配置

note: "The number of linear units of storage space occupied by an object, such as a file on disk or a data structure in a program."
en: Length
zh_TW: 長度

note: "In programming, a collection of routines stored in a file. "
en: Library
zh_TW: 函式庫

note: "A legal contract between a software provider and a user specifying the rights of the user regarding the software. "
en: License agreement
zh_TW: 授權協議

en: Light precipitation
zh_TW: 光降率

en: Limits
zh_TW: 限制

note: "1. Any wire or wires, such as power lines and telephone lines, used to transmit electrical power or signals. 2. In communications, a connection, usually a physical wire or other cable, between sending and receiving (or calling and called) devices, includi"
en: Line
zh_TW: 線

en: line arguments
zh_TW: 列引數

en: linear transfer
zh_TW: 線性轉換

note: "To connect two elements in a data structure by using index variables or pointer variables. A connection between an element in a hypertext document, such as a word, phrase, symbol, or image, and a different element in the document, another document, a file, or a script."
en: Link
zh_TW: 連結

note: "To place information from storage into memory for processing, if it is data, or for execution, if it is program code."
en: load
zh_TW: 載入

note: "1. In communications, a device that can be accessed directly rather than by means of a communications line. 2. In information processing, an operation performed by the computer at hand rather than by a remote computer. "
en: Local
zh_TW: 本機

note: "A number specifying a location or address in memory where data is stored. "
en: Location
zh_TW: 位置

note: "1. A software security feature that requires a key or dongle in order for the application to run correctly. 2. A mechanical device on some removable storage medium (for example, the write-protect notch on a floppy disk) that prevents the contents from bei"
en: Lock
zh_TW: 鎖定

note: "A record of transactions or activities that take place on a computer system. "
en: Log
zh_TW: 紀錄

note: "Based on true and false alternatives as opposed to arithmetic calculation of numeric values. "
en: Logical
zh_TW: 邏輯的

note: "The process by which a user authenticates herself to a computer system, usually by typing in a username and password."
en: Login
zh_TW: 登入

note: "The process of terminating a session with a computer accessed through a communications line. "
en: Logout
zh_TW: 登出

en: Look
zh_TW: 查看

note: "A function, often built into spreadsheet programs, in which a previously constructed table of values called a lookup table is searched for a desired item of information. "
en: Lookup
zh_TW: 檢索

note: "A set of statements in a program executed repeatedly, either a fixed number of times or until some condition is true or false. "
en: Loop
zh_TW: 迴圈

note: "1. In applications, a set of keystrokes and instructions recorded and saved under a short key code or macro name. 2. In programming languages, a compound instruction put together from simpler instructions. "
en: Macro
zh_TW: 巨集

note: "A computer system facility that enables sending and holding messages via the computer."
en: Mail
zh_TW: 電郵

note: "An application which a user reads and sends their e-mail with. Also called Mail User Agent (MUA)."
en: Mail Client
zh_TW: 郵件客戶端程式

en: Mail server
zh_TW: 電郵伺服器

note: "A protocol designator used in the HREF of a hyperlink that enables a user to send e-mail to someone. "
en: Mail to
zh_TW: 郵寄至

note: "A disk storage area assigned to a network user for receipt of electronic messages. "
en: Mailbox
zh_TW: 信箱

note: "The set of statements in a computer program at which execution of the program begins and that invokes the subroutines of the program."
en: Main body
zh_TW: 主體

note: "Online documentation for UNIX commands and programs and the UNIX library routines available for use in C programs. These documents, also found in the UNIX Programmer's Manual, can be displayed on a user's terminal or printed using the command man."
en: Man Pages
zh_TW: 手冊頁

note: "Any program that is designed to perform a certain set of housekeeping tasks related to computer operation, such as the maintenance of files. "
en: Manager
zh_TW: 管理程式

en: Manual
zh_TW: 手冊

note: "see 'Man Pages'."
en: Manual page
zh_TW: 手冊頁

note: "In printing, those portions of a page-top, bottom, and sides-outside the main body of text."
en: Margins
zh_TW: 邊界

note: "1. In applications and data storage, a symbol or other device used to distinguish one item from others like it. 2. In digital transmission, the state of a communications line (positive or negative) corresponding to a binary 1. "
en: Mark
zh_TW: 標記

note: "The process of testing whether two data items are identical or of finding a data item that is identical to a key. "
en: matching
zh_TW: 匹配

note: "The physical material, such as paper, disk, and tape, used for storing computer-based information. "
en: media type
zh_TW: 媒體類型

note: "The value in a series of observed values that has exactly as many observed values above it as there are below."
en: Median
zh_TW: 中位數

en: Meeting
zh_TW: 會議,會合

note: "A device where information can be stored and retrieved. In the most general sense, memory can refer to external storage such as disk drives or tape drives; in common usage, it refers only to a computer's main memory."
en: Memory
zh_TW: 記憶體

note: "A list of possible actions or options available within a program."
en: Menu
zh_TW: 選單

note: "To combine two or more items, such as lists, in an ordered way and without changing the basic structure of either. "
en: Merge
zh_TW: 合併

note: "Information generated by an application that informs the user about the status of a process."
en: Message
zh_TW: 訊息

note: "Data about data. For example, the title, subject, author, and size of a file constitute metadata about the file. "
en: Metadata
zh_TW: 元資料 Metadata

note: "A device-independent file for storing or display. "
en: Metafile
zh_TW: 元文件 Metafile

note: "A 'type' of the file, describing what kind of data and in which format this file contains; for example, MIME type <filename>image/jpeg</filename> is used for graphic files in JPEG format. Used by many applications (such as file manager) to determine what The acronym MIME stands for Multipurpose Int
en: Mime Type
zh_TW: Mime 類型

en: mini icons
zh_TW: 小圖示

note: "In a graphical user interface, to hide a window without shutting down the program responsible for the window. "
en: Minimize
zh_TW: 最小化

en: minor faults
zh_TW: 次要錯誤

note: "An image that is an exact duplicate of the original with the exception that one dimension is reversed. "
en: mirror
zh_TW: 鏡像

note: "In multimedia applications, a device used to simultaneously combine and blend several inputs into one or two outputs."
en: mixer device
zh_TW: 混音器裝置

note: "The value of a series of observed values that is the most frequently observed, as exhibited by a frequency-distribution curve."
en: Modal (value)
zh_TW: 模態(值)

note: "The operational state of a computer or a program. "
en: Mode
zh_TW: 模式

note: "A mathematical or graphical representation of a real-world situation or object. Models can generally be changed or manipulated so that their creators can see how the real version might be affected by modifications or varying conditions. "
en: Model
zh_TW: 模型

note: "Short for modulator/demodulator. A communications device that enables a computer to transmit information over a standard telephone line. "
en: Modem
zh_TW: 數據機

note: "A key on the keyboard that, when held down while another key is pressed, changes the meaning of the keystroke. "
en: Modifier
zh_TW: 修飾符

en: Modify
zh_TW: 修改

note: "1. In programming, a collection of routines and data structures that performs a particular task or implements a particular abstract data type. 2. In hardware, a self-contained component that can provide a complete function to a system and can be interchan"
en: Module
zh_TW: 模組

note: "The device on which images generated by the computer's video adapter are displayed. "
en: Monitor
zh_TW: 螢幕

note: "A monitor that displays images in only one color: black on white "
en: monochrome
zh_TW: 單色

note: "A command instructing the operating system to incorporate contents of a <link linkend='device'>device</link> (such as a hard drive or a CD-ROM) into the system's link <link linkend='filesystem'>file system</link>. Requires the device name (e.g. <filename>"
en: Mount
zh_TW: 掛載

note: "An small icon (usually an arrow) used to indicate the position of the mouse on the <link linkend='desktop'>desktop</link>."
en: Mouse Cursor
zh_TW: 鼠標

note: "A command or instruction to transfer information from one location to another. "
en: Move
zh_TW: 移動

note: "See: Binomial distribution"
en: Negative Binomial
zh_TW: 負二項式

en: Netmask
zh_TW: 網絡掩碼

note: "A group of computers and associated devices that are connected by communications facilities. "
en: Network
zh_TW: 網絡

en: News Site
zh_TW: 新聞網站

en: NO-DAEMON
zh_TW: 無 DAEMON

note: "An addressable point on a network. A device, such as a client computer, a server, or a shared printer, that is connected to the network and is capable of communicating with other network devices. "
en: node
zh_TW: 節點

note: "In statistics, a type of function that describes the probabilities of the possible values of a random variable. "
en: Normal distribution
zh_TW: 常態式分佈

note: "Any computer designed to be moved easily. Notebooks or portable computers can be characterized by size and weight."
en: Notebook
zh_TW: 筆記本

note: "A window displayed when an application generates a warning or error message that requires action before the user can proceed."
en: Notice
zh_TW: 通知

en: Notification
zh_TW: 通知

en: Number
zh_TW: 數目

en: Number Converter
zh_TW: 數字轉換器

en: Number Theory
zh_TW: 數論

en: Numbered List
zh_TW: 編號列表

note: "Pertaining to the digits 0 to 9."
en: Numeric
zh_TW: 數字的

note: "Output from a compiler or an assembler, that was translated from the source code of a program and is itself executable machine code or is suitable for processing to produce excutable machine code. "
en: Object code
zh_TW: 目標代碼

note: "Describing a style of text created by slanting a roman font to simulate italics."
en: oblique
zh_TW: 傾斜的

en: Observations
zh_TW: 觀察,觀測

note: "No longer required or outdated."
en: Obsolete
zh_TW: 過時,失效

note: "In reference to a computing device or a program, unable to communicate with or be controlled by a computer. In reference to one or more computers, being disconnected from a network. "
en: Offline
zh_TW: 離線

note: "In reference to a computing device or a program, activated and ready for operation; connected to or being controlled by a system. "
en: Online
zh_TW: 在線

note: "Reciprocal of transmission ratio."
en: Opacity
zh_TW: 透明度

note: "Being accessible"
en: Open
zh_TW: 開啟

note: "Refers to software for which both the executable files and the source code can be freely redistributed and re-used in other products. This term was introduced by <ulink type='http' url='http://www.opensource.org/'>Open Source Intiative</ulink>; it is very"
en: Open Source
zh_TW: 開放原始碼

note: "The software that controls the allocation and usage of hardware resources such as memory, central processing unit (CPU) time, disk space, and peripheral devices. "
en: Operating System
zh_TW: 作業系統

note: "1. A specific action carried out by a computer in the process of executing a program. 2. In mathematics, an action performed on a set of entities that produces a new entity. "
en: Operation
zh_TW: 作業

note: "Accepted but not required by a command or system."
en: optional
zh_TW: 選擇性

note: "A menu choice in many graphical user interface applications that allows the user to specify how the application will act each time it is used. "
en: Options
zh_TW: 選項

note: "1. In computing, the relative significance of a digit or byte. High-order refers to the most significant (usually leftmost) digit or byte; low-order refers to the least significant (usually rightmost) digit or byte. 2. The sequence in which arithmetic ope"
en: Order
zh_TW: 排序

note: "The way text or images are printed, i.e. either lengways or sideways."
en: Orientation
zh_TW: 方向

note: "The location of the Cartesian coordinates from which the axes that define 2-D and 3-D-space originate. This is the location (0,0)."
en: Origin
zh_TW: 原點

en: Orthflow
zh_TW: 正流式

en: Outline
zh_TW: 要點

note: "The results of processing, whether sent to the screen or printer, stored on disk as a file, or sent to another computer in a network."
en: Output
zh_TW: 輸出

note: "A text-entry mode in which newly typed characters replace existing characters under or to the left of the cursor insertion point. "
en: Overwrite
zh_TW: 覆寫

note: "The person who created a file or directory. "
en: Owner
zh_TW: 擁有者

note: "To store information in a more compact form. "
en: Pack
zh_TW: 軟件包

note: "A computer application consisting of one or more programs created to perform a particular type of work or grouped for modular installation."
en: Package
zh_TW: 套件

note: "1. A unit of information transmitted as a whole from one device to another on a network. 2. In packet-switching networks, a transmission unit of fixed maximum size."
en: Packet
zh_TW: 封包

note: "1. In word processing, the text and display elements to be printed on one side of a sheet of paper. 2. A fixed-size block of memory (8192 contiguous byte locations). 2.  A Web-page."
en: Page
zh_TW: 頁

en: Pager
zh_TW: 傳呼器

note: "In paint programs, a collection of drawing tools, such as patterns, colors, brush shapes, and different line widths."
en: Palette
zh_TW: 色盤

note: "A control area."
en: Panel
zh_TW: 面板

en: Panelize
zh_TW: 面板化

note: "In programming, a value that is given to a variable before an expression is evaluated by a program. A parameter can be text, a number, or an argument name assigned to a value that is passed from one routine to another. "
en: Parameter
zh_TW: 參數

en: Parcel
zh_TW: 包

note: "To break input into smaller chunks so that a program can act upon the information."
en: Parse
zh_TW: 分析

note: "Hard disks and other similar devices can be 'divided' into parts which, for all practical purposes, can be used as separate disks; these parts are called partitions. For example, you can create partitions of differrent types (e.g., FAT32 used by Windows a"
en: Partition
zh_TW: 分割區

note: "A string of typable characters (letters, numbers, punctuation marks, etc.) used to authenticate a user's identity. Required for <link linkend='login'>logging in</link>."
en: Password
zh_TW: 密碼

note: "To insert text or a graphic that has been cut or copied from one document into a different location in the same or a different document. "
en: Paste
zh_TW: 貼上

note: "1. In communications, a link between two nodes in a network. 2. A route through a structured collection of information. 3. In file storage, the route followed by the operating system through the directories to a file. "
en: Path
zh_TW: 路徑

note: "Objects with meaningful regularities."
en: Pattern
zh_TW: 樣式

en: Peak indicator
zh_TW: 尖峰指示器

note: "Statistical concept to describe the correlation coefficient between two variants."
en: Pearson Correlation
zh_TW: 皮爾森相關係數

en: pending signals
zh_TW: 等待信號

note: "The length of time required for an oscillation to complete one full cycle. "
en: Period
zh_TW: 周期

en: Periodic
zh_TW: 周期性

note: "A program in Perl is known as a script. "
en: Perl Script
zh_TW: Perl 程式

note: "In a networked or multiuser computer environment, the ability of a particular user to access a particular resource by means of his or her user account. Permissions are granted by the system administrator."
en: Permission
zh_TW: 權限

note: "Memory actually present in the system, as opposed to virtual memory. "
en: physical memory
zh_TW: 實體記憶體

en: picker button
zh_TW: 選擇器按鈕

en: Picker Settings
zh_TW: 選擇器設定

en: Pilot device
zh_TW: Pilot 裝置

note: "A single element, or <quote>dot</quote>, on the computer's screen.  A pixel's colour is made up of a mixture of red, green and blue light. Screen resolution is measured in pixels."
en: Pixel
zh_TW: 像素

en: Place
zh_TW: 位置,放置

en: Play
zh_TW: 播放

note: "A small software program that plugs into a larger application to provide added functionality. "
en: Plug-in
zh_TW: 增效模組

note: "1. A unit of measure used in printing, equal to approximately 1/72 of an inch. Character height and the amount of space (leading) between lines of text are usually specified in points. 2. A single pixel on the screen, identified by its row and column numb"
en: Point
zh_TW: 點

note: "A mathematical curve often used in statistics and simulation to represent the likelihood of some event occurring  when the average likelihood is known. "
en: Poisson distribution
zh_TW: 泊松分佈

en: Policy
zh_TW: 策略

note: "Any two-dimensional closed (planar) shape composed of connected line segments (vectors), such as a hexagon, an octagon, or a triangle. "
en: Polygon
zh_TW: 多邊形

note: "An open shape consisting of multiple connected segments. Polylines are used in CAD and other graphics programs. "
en: Polyline
zh_TW: 折線

en: Pooled Variance
zh_TW: 綜合變異數

note: "In a graphical user interface, a menu that appears on-screen when a user selects a certain item. "
en: popup menu
zh_TW: 彈出選單

note: "An interface through which data is transferred between a computer and other devices (such as a printer, mouse, keyboard or monitor), a network, or a direct connection to another computer. "
en: port
zh_TW: 連接埠

note: "A vertical print orientation in which the page or screen image is taller than it is wide. "
en: Portrait
zh_TW: 直向

note: "The server and associated storage and mail handling services that provide the centralized location for collection and distribution of e-mail over a network."
en: Post Office
zh_TW: 郵局,郵件服務器

note: "A device or a software routine, such as a linker, that operates on data manipulated first by another processor. "
en: Post Processor
zh_TW: 後處理器

note: "Synonym for Mailbox"
en: Postal Box
zh_TW: 郵政信箱

en: power management
zh_TW: 電源管理

note: "A menu choice in many graphical user interface applications that allows the user to specify how the application will act each time it is used. "
en: Preferences
zh_TW: 偏好設定

en: Prefix
zh_TW: 前綴

note: "In word processors and other applications, the feature that formats a document for printing but displays it on the video monitor rather than sending it directly to the printer."
en: Preview
zh_TW: 預覽

note: "For pigments these are red, yellow and blue."
en: Primary Colors
zh_TW: 主色

note: "In computing, to send information to a printer. "
en: Print
zh_TW: 列印

note: "The area on the paper, excluding margins, where the printer can print data."
en: Print area
zh_TW: 列印區域

note: "A computer peripheral that puts text or a computer-generated image on paper or on another medium, such as a transparency film. "
en: Printer
zh_TW: 印表機

note: "The relative ranking of items. Items with a higher priority have precedence in receiving the attention of the microprocessor and the use of system resources. "
en: Priority
zh_TW: 優先度

note: "The concept that a user's data, such as stored files and e-mail, is not to be examined by anyone else without that user's permission. "
en: Privacy
zh_TW: 私隱

note: "One of two keys in public key encryption. The user keeps the private key secret and uses it to encrypt digital signatures and to decrypt received messages.  "
en: Private key
zh_TW: 私鑰

note: "Messages that have been encrypted to prevent them being read by anybody but the intended recipient."
en: Private Messages
zh_TW: 私人訊息

en: Problem
zh_TW: 問題

note: "A task run by the operating system. UNIX is a multitasking sytem, so at any given moment there are many processes running. Usually, each command or application you start is run as a new process; some applications may run several processes. In addition, th. Each process has a unique ID number  (<acr
en: Process
zh_TW: 程序

note: "The unique identification numer of a programm or part of a program."
en: Process ID
zh_TW: 程序識別碼

en: Processor
zh_TW: 處理器

note: "A sequence of instructions that can be executed by a computer. "
en: Program
zh_TW: 程式

en: Progress
zh_TW: 進度

note: "An indicator which shows the status of a process."
en: Progress Bar
zh_TW: 進度列

en: project
zh_TW: 計劃

note: "Travel of a signal, such as an Internet packet, from its source to one or more destinations. "
en: Propagation
zh_TW: 傳播

note: "A characteristic or parameter of an object or device. Properties of a file, for example, include type, size, and creation date "
en: Properties
zh_TW: 特性

note: "A set of characters in a particular style and size in which a variable amount of horizontal space is allotted to each letter or number. "
en: Proportional font
zh_TW: 比例字體

note: "Safeguarded against accidental erasure or change or from unwanted inspection of others."
en: Protected
zh_TW: 被保護的

en: protected workbooks
zh_TW: 被保護的工作書

en: Protection
zh_TW: 保護

note: "A set of rules or standards designed to enable computers to connect with one another and to exchange information with as little error as possible. "
en: Protocol
zh_TW: 協定

en: Provision
zh_TW: 預備,供給

note: "A computer (or the software that runs on it) that acts as a barrier between a network and the Internet by presenting only a single network address to external sites. "
en: Proxy
zh_TW: 代理

note: "A firewall component that manages Internet traffic to and from a local area network (LAN) and can provide other features, such as document caching and access control. "
en: proxy server
zh_TW: 代理伺服程式

en: Public
zh_TW: 公共的

note: "One of two keys in public key encryption. The user releases this key to the public, who can use it for encrypting messages to be sent to the user and for decrypting the user's digital signature. "
en: Public Key
zh_TW: 公鑰

note: "A specific set of instructions for extracting particular data."
en: Query
zh_TW: 詢問

note: "A line or list formed by items in a system waiting for service. "
en: Queue
zh_TW: 隊列

note: "1. An FTP command that instructs the server to drop the current connection with the client from which it received the command. 2. A command in many applications for exiting the program."
en: Quit
zh_TW: 離開

en: Quoting
zh_TW: 引用

en: Radar map
zh_TW: 雷達圖

en: Radio
zh_TW: 無線電

note: "In graphical user interfaces, a means of selecting one of several options, usually within a dialog box. A radio button appears as a small circle that, when selected, has a smaller, filled circle inside it. "
en: Radio Button
zh_TW: 圓按鈕

note: "Specifically, a reference to an arbitrary or unpredictable situation or event. "
en: Random
zh_TW: 隨機

note: "A block of cells selected for similar treatment in a spreadsheet. "
en: Range
zh_TW: 範圍

en: Rank
zh_TW: 等級,分類

note: "Specified limit to operating conditions, e.g. current rating."
en: Rating
zh_TW: 分級

en: Ratio
zh_TW: 比例

note: "Unprocessed, typically unformatted, data, such as a stream of bits that has not been filtered for commands or special characters. "
en: Raw data
zh_TW: 原始資料

en: Raw memory
zh_TW: 裸內存

en: Readout
zh_TW: 讀出裝置

en: ready...
zh_TW: 準備...

note: "See Physical memory."
en: Real Memory
zh_TW: 實際記憶體

en: real path
zh_TW: 真實路徑

note: "Relating to a time frame imposed by external constraints. Real-time operations are those in which the machine's activities match the human perception of time."
en: Real time
zh_TW: 及時

note: "To restart a computer by reloading the operating system. "
en: Reboot
zh_TW: 重新啟動系統

note: "Synonymous with Sensitivity."
en: Receptivity
zh_TW: 接受力

note: "To accept data from an external communications system, such as a local area network (LAN) or a telephone line, and store the data as a file."
en: Receive
zh_TW: 接收

note: "1. A data structure that is a collection of fields (elements), each with its own name and type. 2. To retain or write information, usually in a file."
en: Record
zh_TW: 紀錄

note: "A parallelogram whose angles are right angles."
en: Rectangle
zh_TW: 長方形

en: Recurrence
zh_TW: 循環

note: "The ability of a routine to call itself. Recursion enables certain algorithms to be implemented with small, simple routines."
en: Recursion
zh_TW: 遞迴

en: Redisplay
zh_TW: 重新顯示

note: "This reverses the effect of the last undo operation on an object."
en: Redo
zh_TW: 取消還原

note: "1. To retrace a video screen at frequent intervals. 2. To recharge dynamic random access memory chips (DRAMs) so that they continue to retain the information stored in them. "
en: Refresh
zh_TW: 重新整理

note: "An area dedicated to or reserved for a particular purpose. "
en: Region
zh_TW: 區域

note: "In statistics, an analysis of the degree to which variations in an independent variable affect a dependent variable (a variable whose value depends on the value of another variable)."
en: Regression analysis
zh_TW: 回歸分析

en: regular
zh_TW: 常規的

note: "A pattern representaing a class of character strings."
en: Regular expression
zh_TW: 正規表示式

note: "To govern by a set of rules or to require the adherence to standards."
en: Regulate
zh_TW: 管制,控制

en: Relationship
zh_TW: 關係

note: "1. A particular version of a piece of software, most commonly associated with the most recent version. 2. A version of a product that is available in general distribution. "
en: Release
zh_TW: 發行,發行版本

note: "Not in the immediate vicinity, as a computer or other device located in another place and accessible through some type of cable or communications link."
en: Remote
zh_TW: 遠端

note: "To delete permanently."
en: Remove
zh_TW: 移除

note: "A command in most file transfer protocol (FTP) clients and in many other systems that allows the user to assign a new name to a file or files."
en: Rename
zh_TW: 改名

note: "A command that causes all information  to be repeated."
en: Repeat
zh_TW: 重覆

note: "To put new data in the place of other data, usually after conducting a search for the data to be replaced. "
en: Replace
zh_TW: 置換

note: "The presentation of information about a given topic, typically in printed form. Reports prepared with computers and appropriate software can include text, graphics, and charts."
en: Reports
zh_TW: 報告

en: reserved blocks
zh_TW: 保留區塊

note: "To restart a computer without turning off its power."
en: Reset
zh_TW: 重設

note: "Computer programs or data are resident as long as they remain on a certain storage device."
en: Resident
zh_TW: 駐留

en: Resident memory
zh_TW: 駐留記憶體

en: Residual
zh_TW: 餘量

note: "To make an object or space larger or smaller. "
en: Resize
zh_TW: 改變大小

note: "A measurement indicating the height and width of the visible screen of a computer in pixels."
en: Resolution
zh_TW: 解析度

note: "The data structures, templates, definition procedures, management routines, icon maps, and so forth associated with a particular resource, such as a menu, window, or dialog box. "
en: Resource element
zh_TW: 資源元素

note: "Synonym of Reboot."
en: Restart
zh_TW: 重新啟動

note: "To take up a process exactly where it had benn interrupted or stopped."
en: Resume
zh_TW: 繼續

note: "To obtain a specific requested item or set of data by locating it and returning it to a program or to the user. "
en: Retrieve
zh_TW: 取得,獲取

note: "mc.pot"
en: Retry
zh_TW: 重試

note: "The reversal of light and dark in the display of selected characters on a video screen. "
en: Reverse video
zh_TW: 反相視像

note: "To return to the last saved version of a document. "
en: Revert
zh_TW: 還原

note: "The top level directory of a UNIX file system, containing all other files and directories. Root directory is denoted by a single slash (<filename>/</filename>)."
en: Root Directory
zh_TW: 根目錄

note: "The background of an X11 desktop, in which background images (<quote>wallpaper</quote>) or running programs may be displayed."
en: Root Window
zh_TW: 根視窗

note: "To turn a model or other graphical image so that it is viewed at a different angle."
en: Rotate
zh_TW: 旋轉

note: "A series of items arranged horizontally."
en: Row
zh_TW: 行

note: "A file containing in it in a packed form all the files comprising an application (executable files, documentation, configuration, etc.), plus some extra information about the application, such as a brief description and dependency information. The RPM for. RPM format was developed by <ulink type='h
en: RPM package
zh_TW: RPM 套件

note: "To execute a program."
en: Run
zh_TW: 執行

en: Sample
zh_TW: 樣本

note: "In statistics, gathering data from a representative subset of a larger group.  2. The conversion of analog signals to digital format. 3. The frequency with which samples of a physical variable, such as sound, are taken."
en: Sampling
zh_TW: 取樣

note: "In color graphics and printing, the amount of color in a specified hue. "
en: Saturation
zh_TW: 彩度

note: "To write data (typically a file) to a storage medium, such as a disk or tape."
en: Save
zh_TW: 儲存

note: "Of or relating to the characteristic of a piece of hardware or software or a network that makes it possible for it to expand-or shrink-to meet future needs and circumstances. "
en: Scalable
zh_TW: 可擴展的,可縮放的

note: "A factor, coefficient, or variable consisting of a single value (as opposed to a record, an array, or some other complex data structure). "
en: Scalar
zh_TW: 標量

note: "A horizontal or vertical line on a graph that shows minimum, maximum, and interval values for the data plotted."
en: Scale
zh_TW: 比例尺

note: "The amount by which a graphical image is enlarged or reduced."
en: Scaling Factor
zh_TW: 縮放比例

note: "In optical technologies, to move a light-sensitive device across an image-bearing surface such as a page of text, converting the light and dark areas on the surface to binary digits that can be interpreted by a computer."
en: Scan
zh_TW: 掃描

note: "An operating-system process that starts and ends tasks (programs), manages concurrently running processes, and allocates system resources. "
en: schedule manager
zh_TW: 調度管理器

note: "A description of a database to a database management system (DBMS) in the language provided by the DBMS. A "
en: schema
zh_TW: 模式,規劃

note: "A floating-point method of representing a number, especially a very large or very small one, in which numbers are expressed as products consisting of a number between 1 and 10 multiplied by a power of 10. "
en: Scientific notation
zh_TW: 科學記數法

note: "The physical monitor device of a computer, consisting of a cathode ray tube, liquid crystal display, or similar means of displaying pixels; the visible picture displayed on the monitor."
en: Screen
zh_TW: 螢幕

note: "A program which blanks the screen or displays pretty or entertaining graphics after a period of inactivity on the console.  Originally intended to prevent burn-in of images on older cathode-ray tubes, screensavers are now used primarily for entertainment "
en: Screen Saver
zh_TW: 螢幕保護程式

note: "A program written in an interpreted language, i.e. a language where the commands are executed one by one as you enter them (as opposed to compiled languages, in which the whole program must first be translated into machine codes (compiled) to create an ex"
en: Script
zh_TW: 程式

note: "To move a document or other data in a window in order to view a particular portion of the document. "
en: Scroll
zh_TW: 捲動

note: "In some graphical user interfaces, a vertical or horizontal bar at the side or bottom of a display area that can be used with a mouse for moving around in that area. "
en: Scrollbars
zh_TW: 捲動列

note: "The process of seeking a particular file or specific data. "
en: Search
zh_TW: 搜尋

en: Search Domains
zh_TW: 找尋域名

note: "The string of characters to be matched in a search-typically a text string."
en: search string
zh_TW: 搜尋字串

note: "Colors produced by mixing primary colors."
en: Secondary Colors
zh_TW: 輔色

note: "A communications link that has been protected against unauthorized access, operation, or use by means of isolation from the public network, encryption, or other forms of control. "
en: Secure channel
zh_TW: 安全通道

en: Secure keyboard
zh_TW: 安全鍵盤

note: "Protection of a computer system or network and its data from harm or loss. "
en: Security
zh_TW: 保安

note: "A section of a program that, when compiled, occupies a contiguous address space and that is usually position independent; that is, it can be loaded anywhere in memory. "
en: Segment
zh_TW: 段,分段

note: "A program crash. More precisely, this is what happens when a program tries to access resources which do not belong to it; in such a case, for security reasons the operating system immediately kills the offending program. Segfaults are almost always caused"
en: Segmentation Fault
zh_TW: 記憶體區段錯誤

note: "In general computer use, to specify a block of data or text on screen by highlighting it. In information processing, to choose from a number of options or alternatives."
en: Select
zh_TW: 選擇

note: "In applications, the highlighted portion of an on-screen document. "
en: Selection
zh_TW: 選擇區

note: "To transmit a message or file through a communications channel."
en: Send
zh_TW: 送出

en: Sense
zh_TW: 感覺,感知

note: "Capable ot receiving stimuli."
en: Sensitive
zh_TW: 敏感

note: "A punctuation character used to delimit charater strings."
en: Separator
zh_TW: 分隔字元

note: "1. On a local area network (LAN), a computer running administrative software that controls access to the network and its resources and provides resources to computers functioning as workstations on the network. 2. On the Internet or other network, a compu"
en: Server
zh_TW: 伺服器

note: "1. The time during which a program is running. In most interactive programs, a session is the time during which the program accepts input and processes information. 2. In communications, the time during which two computers maintain a connection. "
en: Session
zh_TW: 作業階段

note: "1. To change the value of a bit to 1. 2. To establish a particular condition."
en: Set
zh_TW: 設定

note: "Controls for choosing predetermined values."
en: Settings
zh_TW: 設定

note: "1. A computer along with all its devices. 2. The procedures involved in preparing a software program or application to operate within a computer."
en: Setup
zh_TW: 設定

en: Severity
zh_TW: 嚴重性

en: shaped text
zh_TW: 適用內文

note: "To make files, directories, or folders accessible to other users over a network."
en: Share
zh_TW: 分享

note: "On a local area network, a directory on a disk that is located on a computer other than the one the user is operating and that can be accessed by all users on the network. "
en: Shared Memory
zh_TW: 共享記憶體

note: "Any of a number of UNIX programs which interpret commands typed by the user before passing them to the operating system and provide other features such as command history, aliasing, and scripting.  Examples include <command>bash</command> and <command>tcs"
en: Shell
zh_TW: 命令殼

note: "A keyboard key that, when pressed in combination with another key, gives that key an alternative meaning; for example, producing an uppercase character when a letter key is pressed. "
en: Shift key
zh_TW: Shift 鍵

en: Show
zh_TW: 顯示

note: "To close a program or operating system in a manner ensuring that no data is lost."
en: Shut Down
zh_TW: 開閉系統

note: "1. Any electrical quantity, such as voltage, current, or frequency, that can be used to transmit information. 2. A beep or tone from a computer's speaker or a prompt displayed on screen."
en: Signal
zh_TW: 訊號

note: "A block of text that an e-mail client or a newsreader automatically places at the end of every message or article before the message or article is transmitted. "
en: signature block
zh_TW: 簽名區

note: "A sequence of data used for identification, such as text appended to an e-mail message or fax. "
en: signature
zh_TW: 簽名

note: "A control in the upper right corner of the frame of a window. When the user clicks on the size box, the window toggles between the size the user has set for it by dragging and the maximum size. "
en: Size box
zh_TW: 大小框

note: "The difference between what is and what should be-for example, the misalignment of a page that prevents accurate reproduction, or the difference between input and output when circuits do not respond evenly to a propagated signal."
en: Skewness
zh_TW: 失真

en: Skip
zh_TW: 略過

en: Slant
zh_TW: 傾斜,斜體

en: Slashed Cross
zh_TW: 斜切十字

note: "Any device, including a computer, that is controlled by another computer, referred to as the master. "
en: slave
zh_TW: 從

note: "1. In a multiprocessing environment, a temporary state of suspension during which a process remains in memory so that some event, such as an interrupt or call from another process, can 'awaken' it. 2. In programming, a state of suspension caused by a loop"
en: Sleeping
zh_TW: 休眠

note: "A control used to set a value and give a visual indication of the setting"
en: slider
zh_TW: 推桿

en: slow terminals
zh_TW: 慢終端

note: "A synonym for intelligent. "
en: Smart
zh_TW: 智能

note: "A terminal that contains a microprocessor and random access memory (RAM) and that does some rudimentary processing without intervention from the host computer.  "
en: Smart terminal
zh_TW: 智能終端

note: "1. To eliminate irregularities in statistical data by some process such as continuous averaging or by removing random (irrelevant) values. 2. In graphics, to remove jagged edges from a figure or line. "
en: smooth
zh_TW: 平滑化

note: "A copy of main memory or video memory at a given instant, sent to the printer or hard disk. "
en: Snap
zh_TW: 快照

en: Snooze
zh_TW: 打盹

en: SOCKS Server
zh_TW: SOCKS 伺服器

note: "A user-created display object that can be assigned an accelerator key combination and is linked to an operation or process."
en: soft keys
zh_TW: 軟鍵

en: software bug
zh_TW: 軟件錯誤

en: Software Foundation
zh_TW: 軟體基金會

note: "A geometric shape or construction that has continuity in length, width, and depth and is treated by a program as if it had both surface and internal substance. "
en: Solid model
zh_TW: 實型體

en: Solid lines
zh_TW: 實心線

note: "To organize data, typically a set of records, in a particular order. "
en: Sort
zh_TW: 排序

note: "A type of expansion board on PC-compatible computers that allows the playback and recording of sound, such as from a WAV or MIDI file or a music CD-ROM. Most "
en: sound card
zh_TW: 音效卡

note: "In information processing, a disk, file, document, or other collection of information from which data is taken or moved. "
en: Source
zh_TW: 來源

note: "Human-readable program statements written by a programmer or developer in a high-level or assembly language that are not directly readable by a computer. Source code needs to be compiled into object code before it can be executed by a computer."
en: Source code
zh_TW: 源代碼

note: "A character that is entered by pressing the Spacebar on the keyboard and that typically appears on the screen as a blank space."
en: Space character
zh_TW: 空格字元

note: "Useless e-mail.  Spam normally comes in forms of chain-letters and advertisements for websites or services."
en: Spam
zh_TW: 垃圾郵件

note: "Any character that is not alphabetic, numeric, or the space character (for example, a punctuation character). "
en: Special character
zh_TW: 特別字元

en: Spell
zh_TW: 拼寫

note: "An application that employs a disk-based dictionary to check for misspellings in a document. "
en: Spell Checker
zh_TW: 拼字檢查程式

note: "To store a data document in a queue, where it awaits its turn to be printed. "
en: spool
zh_TW: 緩衝池

en: Stabilize
zh_TW: 穩定化

note: "A region of reserved memory in which programs store status data such as procedure and function call addresses, passed parameters, and sometimes local variables. "
en: Stack
zh_TW: 堆疊

note: "1. A de jure technical guideline advocated by a recognized noncommercial or government organization that is used to establish uniformity in an area of hardware or software development. 2. A de facto technical guideline for hardware or software development that occurs when a product or philosophy is
en: Standard
zh_TW: 標準

note: "In statistics, a measure of the dispersion of a group of measurements relative to the mean (average) of that group. "
en: Standard deviation
zh_TW: 標準誤差

en: Standby
zh_TW: 待命

en: Start
zh_TW: 開始

note: "The process of starting or resetting a computer. "
en: Startup
zh_TW: 啟動

en: startup files
zh_TW: 啟動文件

note: "The application that takes control of the system when the computer is turned on."
en: Startup Program
zh_TW: 啟動程序

note: "Synonymous with Status"
en: State
zh_TW: 狀態

note: "The branch of mathematics that deals with the relationships among groups of measurements and with the relevance of similarities and differences in those relationships. "
en: Statistics
zh_TW: 統計

note: "The condition at a particular time of any of numerous elements of computing-a device, a communications channel, a network station, a program, a bit, or other element-used to report on or to control computer operations."
en: Status
zh_TW: 狀態

en: step increment
zh_TW: 階段增加

en: sticky notes
zh_TW: 黏貼提示

en: Stock Ticker
zh_TW: 堆疊指示器

note: "In computing, any device in or on which information can be kept. Microcomputers have two main types of storage: random access memory (RAM) and disk drives and other external storage media. "
en: Storage
zh_TW: 存儲

note: "One or more lines drawn through a selected range of text, usually to show deletion or the intent to delete."
en: Strikethrough
zh_TW: 刪除線

note: "A data structure composed of a sequence of characters usually representing human-readable text."
en: String
zh_TW: 字串

en: stripchart program
zh_TW: 帶狀圖程式

en: structure diagram
zh_TW: 結構圖

en: Style
zh_TW: 風格

note: "A directory (logical grouping of related files) within another directory."
en: Subdirectory
zh_TW: 副目錄

note: "Topic line in an e-mail message"
en: Subject
zh_TW: 主題

note: "A menu that resides within another menu."
en: Submenu
zh_TW: 副選單

note: "A function that passes a job, function or setting to the system for processing"
en: Submit
zh_TW: 提交

note: "1. In general, a network that forms part of a larger network. 2. In terms of the ISO/OSI reference model, the subnet comprises the layers below the transport layer-that is, the network, data link, and physical layers."
en: Subnet
zh_TW: 子網

note: "One or more characters printed slightly below the baseline of surrounding text. "
en: Subscript
zh_TW: 下標,註腳

en: subshell support
zh_TW: 子shell支持

note: "A sequential section of a string. "
en: substring
zh_TW: 子串

en: Suffix
zh_TW: 後綴

note: "A character printed slightly above the surrounding text, usually in smaller type. "
en: Superscript
zh_TW: 上標

note: "Assistance, such as technical advice provided to customers."
en: Support
zh_TW: 支援

note: "To halt a process temporarily. "
en: Suspend
zh_TW: 暫停

note: "1. To exchange one item for another, as in swapping floppy disks in and out of a single drive. 2. To move segments of programs or data between memory and disk storage. "
en: Swap
zh_TW: 調換,交換

note: "1. A circuit element that has two states: on and off. 2. A control device that allows the user to choose one of two or more possible states. "
en: Switch level
zh_TW: 交換級別

note: "Short for symbolic link file. A file constructed with a proprietary Microsoft format, used primarily for exchanging spreadsheet data in such a way that formatting information and intercellular data value relationships are preserved."
en: SYLK file
zh_TW: 符號連結檔

note: "In programming, a name that represents a register, an absolute value, or a memory address (relative or absolute). "
en: Symbol
zh_TW: 符號

note: "A file of special type which contains no data but instead, points to another file or directory. Equivalent to a shortcut under Windows."
en: Symbolic Link
zh_TW: 符號連結

en: Symmetric control
zh_TW: 對稱控制

note: "To cause to occur at the same time."
en: Synchronize
zh_TW: 同步

note: "An error resulting from a statement that violates one or more of the grammatical rules of a language and is thus not 'legal'. "
en: Syntax error
zh_TW: 語法錯誤

note: "Any collection of component elements that work together to perform a task. Examples are a hardware system consisting of a microprocessor, its allied chips and circuitry, input and output devices, and peripheral devices; an operating system consisting of a"
en: System
zh_TW: 系統

note: "The person responsible for administration and maintenance of a computer system."
en: System Administrator
zh_TW: 系統管理員

note: "A process that specifies the machines, devices and programs that form a particular processing system."
en: System Configuration
zh_TW: 系統組態

en: system settings
zh_TW: 系統設定

note: "1. In programming, a data structure usually consisting of a list of entries, each entry being identified by a unique key and containing a set of related values. 2. In relational databases, a data structure characterized by rows and columns, with data occu"
en: Table
zh_TW: 表

note: "1. In programming, one or more characters containing information about a file, record type, or other structure. 2. In certain types of data files, a key or an address that identifies a record and its storage location in another file.  3. In markup languag"
en: tag
zh_TW: 標籤

en: tall
zh_TW: 高

note: "A file created using the <command>tar</command> (Tape ARchive) program, which conglomerates multiple files, or even a whole directory tree, into one file for easy storage or transfer.  These archives are often compressed using the gzip program and given a"
en: tar archive
zh_TW: tar 保存檔

note: "The file to which data is to be written, as in a copy operation. "
en: target file
zh_TW: 目的檔

note: "A stand-alone application or a subprogram that is run as an independent entity."
en: task
zh_TW: 工作

note: "A file created either in memory or on disk, by the operating system or some other program, to be used during a session and then discarded. "
en: temp file
zh_TW: 暫存檔

note: "1. In image processing, a pattern that can be used to identify or match a scanned image. 2. In spreadsheet programs, a predesigned spreadsheet that contains formulas, labels, and other elements.  3. In word processing and desktop publishing programs, a pr"
en: Template
zh_TW: 模板

note: "A region in memory or on a storage device that is temporarily allocated for use in storing intermediate data in a computational, sorting, or transfer operation."
en: temporary buffer
zh_TW: 暫時緩衝區

en: TERM variable
zh_TW: TERM 變數

note: "Originally, a physical device, a monitor capable of showing text output with a connected keyboard. Nowadays, mostly used to refer to a window on your screen which emulates one of these terminals and provides a command line prompt for entering commands and"
en: Terminal
zh_TW: 終端機

note: "1. With reference to software, to end a process or program. Abnormal termination occurs in response to user intervention or because of a hardware or software error. 2. With reference to hardware, to install a plug, jack, or other connector at the end of a"
en: Terminate
zh_TW: 終止

note: "To check program correctness by trying out various sequences and input values. "
en: Test
zh_TW: 測試

en: Test Module
zh_TW: 測試模組

note: "Data that consists of characters representing the words and symbols of human speech; usually, characters coded according to the ASCII standard."
en: Text
zh_TW: 文字

en: text area
zh_TW: 文字區域

note: "A document file in ASCII format, containing characters, spaces, punctuation, carriage returns, and sometimes tabs and an end-of-file marker, but no formatting information. "
en: Text only
zh_TW: 僅有文字

en: textual name
zh_TW: 文字名

note: "An integrated collection of graphical elements intended to give the desktop a certain look and feel.  Common theme components include matching backgrounds, icons, and window decorations. The look of GNOME desktop is determined by 2 themes: a GTK theme, which determines the look of application menus
en: Theme
zh_TW: 佈景主題

note: "In image processing, a specified gray level used for producing a binary image."
en: Threshold
zh_TW: 臨界值

note: "A miniature version of an image or electronic version of a page that is generally used to allow quick browsing through multiple images or pages. "
en: Thumb Nails
zh_TW: 縮圖

note: "1. A regular, rapidly recurring signal emitted by a clocking circuit; also, the interrupt generated by this signal. "
en: Tick
zh_TW: 標記號

en: Ticker Properties
zh_TW: 標記號內容

note: "In computer-graphics programming, to fill adjacent blocks of pixels on the screen with a design or pattern without allowing any blocks to overlap."
en: Tile
zh_TW: 平鋪

note: "A calendar default that identifies whether times are shown acc. to a 12-hour clock or a 24-hour clock."
en: Time format
zh_TW: 時間格式

note: "In computing, the timekeeping and datekeeping functions maintained by the computer's operating system, used most visibly as a means of 'stamping' files with the date and time of creation or last revision."
en: time stamp
zh_TW: 時戳

note: "An event that indicates that a predetermined amount of time has elapsed without some other expected event taking place. The time-out event is used to interrupt the process that had been waiting for the other expected event. "
en: Timeout
zh_TW: 逾時

note: "A register (high-speed memory circuit) or a special circuit, chip, or software routine used to measure time intervals."
en: Timer
zh_TW: 定時器

en: Timezone
zh_TW: 時區

en: Timing
zh_TW: 定時

en: Title
zh_TW: 標題

en: TODO List
zh_TW: TODO 列表

note: "An electronic device with two states or a program option that can be turned on or off using the same action, such as a mouse click."
en: toggle
zh_TW: 切換

en: Tolerance
zh_TW: 公差

en: tool menu
zh_TW: 工具選單

note: "In an application in a graphical user interface, a row, column, or block of on-screen buttons or icons. When these buttons or icons are clicked on with the mouse, macros or certain functions of the application are activated. "
en: Toolbar
zh_TW: 工具列

note: "A package of compact, well-designed programs designed to do a specific task well."
en: Tool
zh_TW: 工具

en: topic
zh_TW: 主題

note: "The movement of data from one location to another. "
en: Transfer
zh_TW: 傳輸

note: "A statement in a programming language that transfers the flow of execution to another location in the program. "
en: Transfer statement
zh_TW: 轉移語句

note: "A relationship is transitive if when it applies from A to B and from B to C it also applies from A to C."
en: Transitive
zh_TW: 傳遞

note: "In programming, to convert a program from one language to another. Translation is performed by special programs such as compilers, assemblers, and interpreters. "
en: Translate
zh_TW: 翻譯

note: "1. A path or link through which information passes between two devices. A channel can be either internal or external to a microcomputer. 2. In communications, a medium for transferring information. "
en: transmission channel
zh_TW: 傳輸通道

note: "In computer use, describing a device, function, or part of a program that works so smoothly and easily that it is invisible to the user. "
en: Transparent
zh_TW: 透明

note: "The result of rotating a matrix. To reverse, as the order of the letters h and t in hte, in correcting the spelling of the; or reversing two wires in a circuit."
en: Transpose
zh_TW: 轉置

note: "An icon on the screen, resembling a garbage can. To delete a file or eject a diskette, the user drags the icon for the file or diskette to the Trash. "
en: Trash
zh_TW: 垃圾筒

note: "A data structure containing zero or more nodes that are linked together in a hierarchical fashion. If there are any nodes, one node is the root; each node except the root is the child of one and only one other node; and each node has zero or more nodes as"
en: Tree
zh_TW: 樹狀結構

en: Trim
zh_TW: 修整,整理

note: "A theoretical model created by British mathematician Alan Turing in 1936 that is considered the prototype for digital computers. "
en: Turing Machine
zh_TW: 涂林機器

note: "1. In programming, the nature of a variable, for example, integer, real number, text character, or floating-point number. 2. In printing, the characters that make up printed text, or the complete set of characters in a given size and style (font). "
en: Type
zh_TW: 類型

en: type bindings
zh_TW: 類型約束

en: Type mismatch
zh_TW: 類型不匹配

note: "To restore deleted information, usually the last item deleted. "
en: Undelete
zh_TW: 取消刪除

note: "To format a selection of text so that the text is printed with a line slightly below it."
en: Underline
zh_TW: 加底線

note: "To reverse the last action-for example, to undo a deletion, thus restoring deleted text to a document. "
en: Undo
zh_TW: 還原

en: Unexpected end
zh_TW: 意外結束

en: unexpected error
zh_TW: 意外錯誤

note: "To remove software completely from a system, including the elimination of files and components residing in system locations such as the Registry in Windows 9x, Windows NT, or Windows 2000. "
en: Uninstall
zh_TW: 移除

note: "A response to a request for a connection to a server that indicates that the network is unable to find the specified address. "
en: Unknown host
zh_TW: 未知主機

note: "1. To remove a storage medium, such as a tape or disk, from its drive. 2. To remove software from system memory. "
en: Unload
zh_TW: 卸載

note: "A new file that has not yet been saved by the user unser a specific name."
en: Untitled
zh_TW: 無標題

note: "A new release of an existing software product. A software update usually adds relatively minor new features to a product or corrects errors (bugs) found after the program was released. To change a system or a data file to make it more current."
en: Update
zh_TW: 更新

note: "The new or enhanced version of a product. To change to a newer, usually more powerful or sophisticated version."
en: Upgrade
zh_TW: 升級

note: "The amount or percentage of time a computer system or associated hardware is functioning and available for use. "
en: Uptime
zh_TW: 持續運行時間,開機時間

en: Urgent condition
zh_TW: 緊急情況

note: "An actual person who uses a computer system, identified by a unique username, or a virtual person or role similarly identified by a unique username.  Virtual users may be used to run daemon or other software."
en: User
zh_TW: 使用者

note: "Something determined by the user"
en: User defined
zh_TW: 自訂

note: "gnome-core.pot"
en: user directory
zh_TW: 使用者目錄

note: "The portion of a program with which a user interacts. Types of user interfaces, or UIs, include command-line interfaces, menu-driven interfaces, and graphical user interfaces. "
en: User Interface
zh_TW: 用戶介面

note: "A string of alphanumeric characters uniquely identifying a user of a computer system.  Most usernames are based on the user's real name, so Mary Smith might have the  username 'mary' or 'msmith'."
en: Username
zh_TW: 使用者名稱

en: Valid chars
zh_TW: 有效字符

note: "A quantity assigned to an element such as a variable, symbol, or label. "
en: Value
zh_TW: 值

note: "In programming, a named storage location capable of containing data that can be modified during program execution. "
en: Variable
zh_TW: 變數

note: "The average of the squares of the deviations of a number of observations of a quantity from their mean value."
en: Variance
zh_TW: 變化;變動;變異

note: "Images generated from mathematical descriptions that determine the position, length, and direction in which lines are drawn. Objects are created as collections of lines rather than as patterns of individual dots or pixels. "
en: Vector Graphics
zh_TW: 向量圖像

en: Vendor
zh_TW: 廠商,供貨商

note: "Displaying messages as English text rather than as concise (but cryptic) codes."
en: VERBOSE
zh_TW: 冗餘,詳細

note: "To confirm either that a result is correct or that a procedure or sequence of operations has been performed."
en: Verify
zh_TW: 確認

note: "A particular issue or release of a hardware product or software title."
en: Version
zh_TW: 版本

en: Vertical
zh_TW: 垂直

en: Vertical Alignment
zh_TW: 垂直對齊

note: "Pertaining to the visual component of a television signal. In relation to computers, video refers to the rendering of text and graphics images on displays."
en: Video
zh_TW: 視訊

note: "The display of data or an image from a given perspective or location. "
en: View
zh_TW: 視圖

note: "A specified window on a display surface that marks the limits of a display."
en: Viewport
zh_TW: 可視見區

note: "Pertaining to a device, service, or sensory input that is perceived to be what it is not in actuality, usually as more 'real' or concrete than it actually is."
en: Virtual
zh_TW: 虛擬

note: "Some <link linkend='wmanager'>window managers</link> allow the user to have several virtual desktops;you could have application windows open and working on all of them, even though at every moment, only one of the virtual desktops is shown on your screen."
en: Virtual Desktop
zh_TW: 虛擬桌面

note: "A feature of an application that displays data in the form of a video image. For example, some databases can interpret and show data in the form of a two- or three-dimensional model."
en: Visualization
zh_TW: 視覺化表示,視覺呈現

note: "1. A disk or tape that stores computer data. Sometimes, large hard disks are divided into several volumes, each of which is treated as a separate disk. 2. The loudness of an audio signal."
en: Volume
zh_TW: 容量,音量

note: "In a graphical user interface, a pattern or picture in the screen background that can be chosen by the user. "
en: Wallpaper
zh_TW: 桌布

en: Warning
zh_TW: 警告

en: Watch file
zh_TW: 監視文件

note: "A document on the World Wide Web. A Web page consists of an HTML file, with associated files for graphics and scripts, in a particular directory on a particular machine (and thus identifiable by a URL). "
en: Web Page
zh_TW: 網頁

en: Weight
zh_TW: 重,重量

note: "A single element of a graphical user interface, such as a button, scrollbar, or text input area."
en: Widget
zh_TW: 視窗元件

en: Width
zh_TW: 寬度

note: "The interface element used to display most applications under a windowing GUI such as <link linkend='xwin'>X Window System</link>.  Windows typically consist of a main area in which typing or other work occurs, a title bar (which may contain buttons to mi window-specific menus, and a scroll bar dow
en: Window
zh_TW: 視窗

note: "A program which extends the capabilities of the  <link linkend='xwin'>X Window System</link> by providing most of the user-friendly <link linkend='widget'>widgets</link> people expect from a windowing system, such as window borders, buttons and menus,  wa"
en: Window Manager
zh_TW: 視窗管理程式

note: "The native unit of storage on a particular machine. A word is the largest amount of data that can be handled by the microprocessor in one operation and also, as a rule, the width of the main data bus. "
en: Word
zh_TW: 字

en: Work
zh_TW: 工作

note: "In a spreadsheet program, a file containing a number of related worksheets. "
en: Workbook
zh_TW: 工作簿

note: "The directory in which the user's commands take place, unless another directory is specified."
en: working directory
zh_TW: 工作目錄

note: "The background screen area on which windows and icons are displayed."
en: Workspaces
zh_TW: 工作區域

note: "To continue movement, as with the cursor or a search operation, to the beginning or to a new starting point rather than stopping when the end of a series is reached. "
en: Wrap
zh_TW: 自動斷行

note: "A transfer of information to a storage device, such as a disk, or to an output device, such as the monitor or printer. "
en: Write
zh_TW: 寫入

en: X Align
zh_TW: X 對齊

en: XDMCP socket
zh_TW: XDMCP套接字

note: "The arithmetic symbol (0) representing no magnitude."
en: zero
zh_TW: 零

en: Zigzagline
zh_TW: 折線

note: "A disk drive developed by Iomega that uses 3.5-inch removable disks (Zip disks) capable of storing 100 megabytes of data. "
en: Zip Drive
zh_TW: Zip 記憶碟

note: "To enlarge a selected portion of a graphical image or document to fill a window or the screen. "
en: Zoom
zh_TW: 縮放
